Download this event for iCal

Academy of St Martin in the Fields


String Quartet No. 11 in F minor, Op. 95 (arr. for string orchestra)
Steven Mackey
Four Iconoclastic Episodes for solo violin, electric guitar and strings (London premiere)
String Quartet No. 2 (arr. for string orchestra)


Steven Mackey
electric guitar
Anthony Marwood

The Academy is joined by acclaimed violinist Anthony Marwood for an exploration of iconoclastic works.

The evening’s programme features the London premiere of Steven Mackey’s Four Iconoclastic Episodes, a work scored for solo violin, electric guitar and strings. We welcome Steven Mackey as soloist alongside Anthony Marwood. In the context of great works by Shostakovich and Beethoven, the concert explores some of the most original thinkers of the 19th and 20th centuries.

‘The string sound is just gorgeous, big and pliant and vibrant, and the ensemble level defies all expectations – every note, every attack, precisely in the right place. Incisive, committed playing brought every measure to life.’

Melinda Bargreen, Seattle Times

‘(Anthony Marwood) is a magic name in the business.’

The Independent

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

£36, £26, £16, £10

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info