Download this event for iCal

Berlin Symphony Orchestra


Overture to Der Freischütz
Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54
Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 55, ‘Eroica’


Kit Armstrong
Mario Venzago

The Konzerthausorchester Berlin has been delighting audiences for more than 50 years. Their three-concert mini residency at Cadogan Hall in 2009 was a great success and we are delighted to welcome them back to close the 2011/12 Zurich season.

The soloist for the evening is 18-year-old pianist Kit Armstrong, who, since making his concerto debut at the age of eight, has given recitals and concerto performances around the world to great critical acclaim. He joins the orchestra to play Schumann’s romantic Piano Concerto, written by the composer for his pianist wife Clara.

The programme concludes with Beethoven’s mighty Eroica Symphony, a heady musical mix of revolutionary fervour and introspective angst.

6.30pm, Culford Room: Pre-concert music by RCM students
Beethoven: String Quartet in F Major, Op. 18 No. 1
(Josephine Robertson, Selena Choi, Louisa Tatlow, Feargus Egan)

Part of Zurich International Concert Series 2011-12

Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra

One of the great Russian orchestras performs an all-Russian programme of Prokofiev, Tchaikovsky (Violin Concerto) and Mussorgsky (Pictures at an Exhibition).

Czech National Symphony Orchestra

Eighth Symphonies by Schubert and Dvořák frame Mozart's Violin Concerto No. 5 with soloist Nicola Benedetti.

Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra

Panunik's Sinfonia Rustica, Bruch's Violin Concerto with soloist Kuba Jakowicz, and Beethoven's Fifth Symphony.

Lahti Symphony Orchestra

Ann all-Sibelius programme from Finland's greatest orchestra, with soloist Elina Vähälä, including the Violin Concerto and Fifth Symphony.

Russian State Philharmonic Orchestra

Rachmaninov's Second Piano Concerto and Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade.

Camerata Salzburg

An all-Mozart programme, with soloist Hilary Hahn, including Violin Concerto No. 4 and Symphony No. 29.

Brussels Philharmonic

Mendelssohn's sunny Violin Concerto, with the young Russian violinist Alexander Sitkovetsky, and Tchaikovsky's Sixth Symphony, the 'Pathétique'.

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

£39, £32, £26, £18
ENCORE Members: pay £28 for top two prices

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Encore View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info