Download this event for iCal

City of London Sinfonia


John Adams
Gnarly Buttons
John Adams
Grand Pianola Music


Michael Collins

Tonight’s concert features City of London Sinfonia Principal Conductor Michael Collins as both conductor and soloist.
Stravinsky’s Octet is one of his most influential chamber works for winds taking inspiration from the older traditions of Western music; a playful and light piece it reveals the composer’s wry sense of humour throughout.

John Adams’ first instrument was the clarinet and Gnarly Buttons is a concerto for clarinet and small orchestra inspired by the enduring influence of his father, also a clarinettist and first premiered in 1996 by Michael Collins. His Grand Pianola Music is full of dynamic and delicate moments of music and was inspired by a dream in which he found himself driving down Interstate 5, being approached by two of the world’s longest Steinways.

6.45pm: Free pre-concert talk with City of London Sinfonia Principal Conductor Michael Collins.

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

£32, £25, £18, £15
CLS FIVER (for 16-25 year olds): £5 (pre-register with

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info