Download this event for iCal

City of London Sinfonia: Jazz Kings


Ebony Concerto
Rhapsody in Blue (original dance band version)
Suite from the Threepenny Opera
Jazz Suite No. 1
Prelude, Fugue and Riffs


Michael Collins
Gwilym Simcock

Leading orchestra, City of London Sinfonia, performs music written for some of the biggest jazz names of the 1930s and 1940s: clarinettists Benny Goodman and Woody Herman, and the band leader Paul Whiteman – alongside Kurt Weill’s music for his Threepenny Opera and Shostakovich’s first Jazz Suite. Benny Goodman and Woody Herman both commissioned the leading classical composers of their day to write music for their jazz bands – Goodman working with Leonard Bernstein and Herman with Igor Stravinsky.

The Orchestra are joined by leading jazz pianist Gwilym Simcock for a performance of George Gershwin’s timeless Rhapsody in Blue, in the original version composed for Paul Whiteman’s dance band.

Part of City of London Sinfonia’s Hot Tunes, Cold War concert series.

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

£32, £25, £18, £12
ENCORE Members: top price tickets for £26
Concessions (children under 16 / Jobseekers / Income support): 50% off
Groups (4 or more): 15% off
16-25 year olds and students: £5 best available seat through CLS FIVER Scheme (see for details)

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Encore View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info