Download this event for iCal

Dmitry Yablonsky Birthday Concert

Piano and cello recital


Arioso from Cantata, BWV156
Fantasy Pieces, Op.73 – Adagio
Cello Sonata No.1 in E minor, Op.38
Violin Sonata, transcr. D. Yablonsky for cello & piano
Cello Sonata in D minor, Op.40


Dmitry Yablonsky
Farhad Badalbeyli

Acclaimed cellist and conductor Dmitry Yablonsky performs a special birthday recital, joined by pianist Farhad Badalbeyli. Bach’s famous Arioso from his Cantata, BWV156, is perfectly suited to the resonant, singing sonority of the cello, as is Schumann’s lyrical Adagio from his Fantasy Pieces, Op.73, originally written for clarinet and piano.

Yablonsky himself transcribed the striking Violin Sonata by Azerbaijani composer Azer Rzayev. Alongside these arrangements are two powerful sonatas for cello and piano by Brahms and Shostakovich, both works displaying the cello’s capacity for intense drama and heartfelt emotion.

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

ENCORE Members: £5 off

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Encore View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info