Download this event for iCal

English Schools Orchestra


Edward Gregson
new work (world premiere)
Vaughan Williams
The Lark Ascending
A Shropshire Lad
Symphony No. 1


  • English Schools Orchestra
  • Southend Boys’ and Girls’ Choirs
Magnus Johnston
Tim Nelson

This is a special year for the English Schools’ Orchestra as it returns to Cadogan Hall for its 20th anniversary concert. This also coincides with the centenary of the Performing Rights Society for Music, one of the ESO’s main sponsors. As a joint celebration PRS for Music have funded a brand new work from renowned composer Edward Gregson which is given its world premiere.

The programme commemorates the start of First World War, another centenary, and includes English music written in and around this time. Elgar’s epic First Symphony is the main work and the orchestra is also joined by Magnus Johnston for Vaughan Williams’ ever popular The Lark Ascending. Butterworth’s haunting A Shropshire Lad completes the programme.

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

Adults: £12; Children: £8

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info