Download this event for iCal

Kensington Symphony Orchestra

Venue: Cadogan Hall


The Enchanted Lake
Huw Watkins
Four Legends from the Kalevala (Lemminkäinen Suite)


  • Kensington Symphony Orchestra
Russell Keable

Lyadov’s music inhabits a magical world, peopled with unearthly spirits. The Enchanted Lake grows from a rippling opening theme contrasted with more rhythmic ideas evoking the water nymphs who live there.

Huw Watkins says of his Symphony, written for the Hallé Orchestra who premiered it in 2017, that ‘the overall impression I hope the piece will generate is one of momentum and excitement’.

The vivid orchestration of Sibelius’s Four Legends conjures the atmosphere of the northern forests of the Kalevala, Finland’s great national epic, especially in the haunting second movement, depicting a swan gliding on a dark river – The Swan of Tuonela.

Concert Duration:
approx. 1 hour 45 mins (incl. interval)

Ticket Information *

£22.50, £20, £16, £13

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info