Download this event for iCal

London Chamber Orchestra


Dumbarton Oaks
Clarinet Concerto
Symphony No.39


Mark van de Wiel
Christopher Warren-Green

The London Chamber Orchestra performs a programme featuring Stravinsky’s Dumbarton Oaks and Mozart’s Symphony No 39 and Clarinet Concerto, performed by LCO clarinettist Mark van de Wiel.

Dumbarton Oaks was the last work Stravinsky completed before leaving Europe, composed during his neo-classical period. The piece is named for the Dumbarton Oaks estate in Washington DC, which was owned by Robert and Mildred Bliss, who commissioned Stravinsky to compose a piece in the tradition of Bach’s Brandenburg concertos.

In the final few years of Mozart’s life, he composed his final three symphonies, including Symphony No 39, and his Clarinet Concerto, the last purely instrumental work he would compose, which was completed in 1791 shortly before his death in December of that year. Mozart wrote the concerto for clarinettist Anton Stadler, whom he greatly admired.

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

£28, £22, £15
Children 16 and under: free (limited availability)
ENCORE Members: 10% off all tickets

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Encore View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info