Download this event for iCal

Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra

Venue: Cadogan Hall


Romeo & Juliet (short suite)
Violin Concerto
Mussorgsky arr. Ravel
Pictures at an Exhibition


Yuri Simonov
Nikita Boriso-Glebsky

Formed from Moscow’s finest orchestral musicians, the Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra is one of the great Russian orchestras of today. Regular visitors to the world’s leading concert venues, the orchestra presents a richly colourful programme under the baton of its chief conductor, Yuri Simonov.

Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto in D minor is one of the best known, but among the most technically difficult works for violin. Written in just 11 days, in 1878, the work has become well known for its rich melodies and expressive nature. It is performed by the young Russian violinist, Nikita Boriso-Glebski, winner of the 2010 International Jean Sibelius Violin competition and International Fritz Kreisler Violin Competition.

Plus free pre-concert music from 6.30pm in the Culford Room:
Prokofiev: Sonata in D major, Op. 94
Kelsey Seymour, flute & Valarie Liow, piano
Tchaikovsky: Valse-scherzo in C, Op. 34
Soh-Yon Kim, violin & Channarong Jantararat, piano

Part of Zurich International Concert Series 2011-12

Czech National Symphony Orchestra

Eighth Symphonies by Schubert and Dvořák frame Mozart's Violin Concerto No. 5 with soloist Nicola Benedetti.

Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra

Panunik's Sinfonia Rustica, Bruch's Violin Concerto with soloist Kuba Jakowicz, and Beethoven's Fifth Symphony.

Lahti Symphony Orchestra

Ann all-Sibelius programme from Finland's greatest orchestra, with soloist Elina Vähälä, including the Violin Concerto and Fifth Symphony.

Russian State Philharmonic Orchestra

Rachmaninov's Second Piano Concerto and Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade.

Camerata Salzburg

An all-Mozart programme, with soloist Hilary Hahn, including Violin Concerto No. 4 and Symphony No. 29.

Brussels Philharmonic

Mendelssohn's sunny Violin Concerto, with the young Russian violinist Alexander Sitkovetsky, and Tchaikovsky's Sixth Symphony, the 'Pathétique'.

Berlin Symphony Orchestra

Schumann's romantic Piano Concerto, with 18-year-old soloist Kit Armstrong, and Beethoven's Third Symphony.

Supported by:

  • Zurich
Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

£39, £32, £26, £18
ENCORE Members: pay £28 for top two prices

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Encore View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info