Download this event for iCal

Motoki Hirai, piano

Venue: Cadogan Hall


J.S. Bach
Partita No. 2 in C minor, BWV 826
6 Bagatelles, Op. 126
Motoki Hirai
New Work (2018) (world premiere)
By the Sea, D. 957 No. 12 from Schwanengesang (trans. Hirai)
Morgengruß, D. 795 No. 8 from Die schöne Müllerin (trans. Godowsky)
Serenade, D. 957 No. 4 from Schwanengesang (trans. Liszt)
Maiden’s Wish from 6 Chants Polonais (trans. Liszt)
Spring from 6 Chants Polonais (trans. Liszt)
Rondo Capriccioso, Op. 14


Motoki Hirai

Acclaimed worldwide for his imagination and sensitivity, composer-pianist Motoki Hirai makes a welcome return to Cadogan Hall following his highly successful recital in 2014. His career to date has taken him to over 60 countries around the globe.

Opening the programme with works by J.S. Bach and Beethoven, composers he has admired throughout his musical career; the second half includes part of a series of works compiled for The Fascinating World of Folklore and Stories – Brought to Life through Reading and Music which he has been running since 2007. The project is planned to be introduced at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, which is the latest exciting development, and covers the Romantic giants Schubert, Chopin and Mendelssohn, including his own transcriptions, to give it a consistent theme.

“A most brilliant and sensitive musical talent” (The Guardian)

Ticket Information *

£35, £25, £10

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info