Download this event for iCal

Orchestra of the Swan

The Young Mendelssohn & Youthful Genius


Eine Kleine Nachtmusik
Concerto for Violin and Piano
Violin Concerto in D minor
Serenade for Strings, Op.6


Tamsin Waley-Cohen
Huw Watkins
David Curtis

Orchestra of the Swan makes its return to Cadogan Hall in another programme with the outstanding violinist Tamsin Waley-Cohen who captivated the Cadogan audience last year with a mesmerising performance of The Lark Ascending. Mendelssohn’s bravura early concertos for violin, and violin and piano, where she is joined by Huw Watkins, offer the perfect showcase for her own youthful virtuosity.

We stay in youthful mood for one of the most beautiful works for string orchestra, the Serenade by Joseph Suk. This rarely performed jewel was composed to impress his father-in-law to be, Antonin Dvořák. Dvořák was suitably impressed.

‘The most exceptionally gifted young violinist I have ever encountered.’

Ruggiero Ricci

The Lark Ascending received a superlative performance due to Tamsin Waley-Cohen’s purity of tone and an ability to hold the line in the poetic statement enshrined in this magical work.’

Classical Source

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

Tickets: £35, £25, £15, £10
ENCORE Members: top price tickets for £25

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Encore View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info