Download this event for iCal

Philharmonia Orchestra


Violin Concerto No. 1, Op. 77
Concerto for Orchestra


Mayuko Katsumura
Enrico Marconi

The passionate duo, violinist Mayuko Katsumura and conductor Enrico Marconi, join the Philharmonia Orchestra in a programme featuring two gems of the symphonic repertoire.

Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1 was composed during the post-war years in Soviet Russia (1947-48) but, due to severe censorship at that time, it was not performed until 1955. Op. 77, along with his Tenth Symphony, is considered to be his most major accomplishment, which adopts a four-movement symphonic structure.

Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra is a masterpiece in a league of its own. Premièred on 1st December 1944, the oeuvre is developed in five-movements. The composer named it a ‘Concerto’ (rather than a symphony) to underline the virtuosic way in which every section of the orchestra is treated, alternating their role from ‘soloist’ to ensemble in turn.

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

£39, £32, £26

(Please note: due to stage extension, the first row of seating in the Stalls centre block is Row A)

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info