Download this event for iCal

Southbank Sinfonia with Vladimir Ashkenazy


Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
Symphony No. 9 (From the New World)


Alessio Bax
Vladimir Ashkenazy

Revered conductor Vladimir Ashkenazy reunites once again with the electrifying musicians of Southbank Sinfonia for a concert of astonishing melodies.

Joining the orchestra at the piano for Rachmaninov’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini is Alessio Bax, a soloist described by The New Yorker as ‘perhaps the most elegant of today’s young pianists’. Inspired by Paganini’s final Caprice for solo violin, Rachmaninov transforms, embellishes and amplifies the original melody into one of the all-time great works for piano and orchestra.

Bringing the concert to a thrilling symphonic conclusion is Dvořák’s Ninth Symphony, a masterpiece spawned from the thriving metropolis of New York at the close of the 19th century. Written in a city buzzing with new American musical influences, Dvořák blends his love and longing for his native Bohemia with the exhilarating thrill of the New World.

A familiar figure on the podium with many of the world’s greatest orchestras, Ashkenazy champions the talented young musicians of Southbank Sinfonia. This is an orchestra of the most exciting graduates from around the world, joining together to bring fresh resonance to the stage.

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

£35, £25, £17.50, £10

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info